Chennai Book Fair..

Chennai Book Fair

Today I went to a book fair in Chennai. Its been organized by “The Booksellers and Publishers Association of South India” at The Quaid-e-Millet Govt Arts College for Women. There is a stall for every publisher. What surprised me was, over 95% of the stalls (there are 280 stalls) are Tamil Publications. Man, I never imagined that there are so many Tamil Publications. What surprised me even more is the response to this book fair. I didn’t find a stall where I can move in freelly and check the books. There are 100’s of people waiting in Queue to enter each stall.

In the fair, the people from Publishing group spoke to me in Pure Tamil. They were polite to everybody. Good to be in such an environment. (You will not be surprised to see people talking on a Tamil Book in English…. I don’t know why? Anyway..)

Though I didn’t get too many books in the fair, it was kind of a great experience to me.

Author: azagappan

Hi.. I am Azagu. I live in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India. I am a .NET developer. You can reach me at azagappan at gmail.com

Leave a Reply

