The result of Laziness, Procrastination and the Opportunity Cost.

Opportunity Cost ,  the real cost of lost time, lost credibility, lost career, lost love, lost life which are brought into one’s life by our seeming friends – Laziness and procrastination are very high. In long run, these seeming friends bring more pain to life than pleasure.

More than any other losses, these seeming friends brought pessimism into me; against which I am fought every day.  There are many theories out there about pessimism – it feels good to read about it, but it is very hard to spend a few months / years with it.  I have been there, felt that and know what it means. Pessimism :  I call it a strange disease;  puts a filter on to your vision and the result, you see negativity in all sorts of life.  The more pain of this strange disease is- you don’t know you have it.  I thought I was more optimistic and realistic, but the reality is I had that filter on my vision without me knowing about it.

I tried many things to get out of it – To Do lists,  Not To do lists, doing three important things a day and so many other suggestions out there on web.   Nothing worked.  Thank God : I read this post of  Reg Braithwaite . The techniques in the book  –   Learned Optimism: How to Change Your Mind and Your Life has helped me a lot in taking my pessimism out.  It took a lot of time and pain for me to come out of it,  I am now out of it.  I have re-read the book many many times.  A Great book.

Yesterday, when I logged into my blog to make my first blog of the year, my heart felt bad to learn that the last post I made was in April last year.  So many opportunities lost in last one year , but it is OK.  As the saying goes ” Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending”

As with regards to my career, I have two certification goals for this year.  One is planned by end of July and the other by end of Oct-2010.  I now feel very optimistic that the opportunity cost of my decision, the choices I make now will make me better in times to come.

Author: azagappan

Hi.. I am Azagu. I live in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India. I am a .NET developer. You can reach me at azagappan at gmail.com

7 thoughts on “The result of Laziness, Procrastination and the Opportunity Cost.”

  1. Hi!

    Ok, that was a post that “hit on the nail”…. I’m there too: procrastinating, and with pessimism….. I’ll take a look at the book, and see if that helps me a little too (unless I become to lazy to end the book 😦 ).

    Anyway, thanks!

  2. Unquestionably consider that which you stated.

    Your favourite justification appeared to be on the web
    the simplest factor to have in mind of. I say to
    you, I certainly get annoyed while other folks think about concerns that they just don’t recognize about.
    You controlled to hit the nail upon the top as smartly as outlined out
    the whole thing without having side-effects , other folks
    can take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thanks

  3. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all
    is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would
    be greatly appreciated. Kudos

  4. Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to look it over.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Superb blog and excellent design.

  5. One thing I want to say is the fact car insurance cancellations is a hated experience so if you’re doing the right things as being a driver you will not get one. Some individuals do have the notice that they are officially dropped by their particular insurance company and several have to struggle to get extra insurance after having a cancellation. Low cost auto insurance rates are usually hard to get from a cancellation. Understanding the main reasons with regard to auto insurance termination can help individuals prevent sacrificing one of the most critical privileges readily available. Thanks for the thoughts shared by means of your blog.

Leave a Reply

